Tags

,

The Internet can be a really fun place. I have been lurking, well not really, around the crowd-funding websites. There is something here for everyone. You find a topic that interests you and then you can make a donation to help make an idea a reality.

I first started checking these out because I would like to start a campaign for a friend, but more about that later.

So the first thing I donated to was an honesty study by Dan Ariely. Then my niece, a Harvard student, wanted help sending a group of students to a poetry slam.

After that, I discovered that there are people out there developing cool technology. I have been looking into drones for new ways to photograph things and places. So when I found the PlexiDrone on Indiegogo, I was really excited. When you help people fund their ideas, you are given the opportunity to collect on a “perk”. In this case, the “perk” was a drone. These won’t be shipped until April 2015, so I will wait.Screen Shot 2015-01-04 at 10.03.28 PM

The next campaign that caught my attention was the Bluesmart carry on suitcase. Bluesmart is a high-quality small suitcase that you can control from your phone. The suitcase will lock, weigh and track your carry-on with your phone. You can also charge your phone 6 times over with the suitcase’s built-in battery.Screen Shot 2015-01-03 at 11.08.02 PM

After that, I found an All-in-One keychain backup battery. I was also intrigued by the inCharge, which is a tiny USB cable. The last item is the iPocket Drive. This is a USB hard drive with an Apple Lightning connector that doubles your iPhone storage. The first time you plug in your IPD you will be prompted to download a free Apple app. The app requires no set-up, and you will immediately see four options:

Contact Backup: Backs up all of your contacts/ Local Storage: Accesses files on your IOS device/External Storage: Accesses your iPocket Drive storage/Dropbox: Accesses DropboxScreen Shot 2015-01-03 at 11.09.34 PM Screen Shot 2015-01-04 at 9.17.05 PMScreen Shot 2015-01-03 at 11.06.46 PMScreen Shot 2015-01-03 at 11.10.04 PM

I must confess that I haven’t received any of the “perks” yet, because first, I am still in France and they will be sent to my home in California. But secondly, these items are not necessarily ready for shipment. The first ones will ship later this month and the final one will be the drone, in April.

Let me know if you have found any cool crowd-funding sites and anything that you are helping to fund. By the way, the earlier you help fund, the better the perks.