Tags

, ,

Today is the last day of 2013. We are still greeting people with Happy Holidays. Christmas came and went too quickly for me. Jacques and I had the family dinner at our home. My sister and her children/grandchildren went to Hawaii but everyone else came. You probably do the same; we break up the cooking and ask everyone to bring a dish. I cooked the turkey and the stuffing, and the other family members brought either vegetables, wine or dessert. The meal was excellent since my family members are all talented cooks.

All the Christmas decorations have been put away for next year. The left over turkey has been made into soup. Right now I’m thinking that instead of Christmas in 2014 here in California, a trip to Hawaii would be really nice.

Most of you are probably planning a party for tonight. I find that most New Years Eve parties are forced. You are expected to drink excessive amounts and celebrate with silly hats and noisemakers. If your friends have not organized a party, you can dine out in a restaurant. My favorite part of the New Years Eve celebrations is the fireworks.

This year, we have planned a party. Yes to the champagne, I love champagne and maybe I will buy some noisemakers, but no silly hats. The present plan is for a simple dinner…. caviar… no I’m kidding here, caviar is way too expensive so probably fois gras, fresh Dungeness crab, oysters, salad, cheese and strawberries. Oh wait, that was Christmas Eve’s dinner. It was really good, thank you Lexie and Stephen.

My mother has asked us to join her at her home for dinner. She is planning on a roast beef, some roasted veggies, salad and something yummy for dessert. We will bring wine and fois gras. I have always enjoyed celebrating the coming of the new year with family and close friends. Tonight we may even make it to 12:00 with our glass of champagne. We will watch the fireworks on television.

I would love to hear about your plans. Here are some pictures taken in Australia where it is already 2014.
Screen Shot 2013-12-31 at 10.31.02 AM

Screen Shot 2013-12-31 at 10.30.31 AM

Screen Shot 2013-12-31 at 10.29.57 AM

Screen Shot 2013-12-31 at 10.29.22 AM