Tags

, ,

I’m back in California and in my own kitchen in. It is nice to be home after 2 months in France. My husband stayed behind to take care of our summer renters. He has been telling me that the weather has been in the high 90’s. That is way too hot for me.

I recently discovered this wonderful recipe for a Ricotta Cheesecake. I tore it out of a magazine but I can’t remember which one. Maybe it was from People Magazine. Give it a try and I think you will be as impressed as I was.
cheese cake copy
Ricotta Cheesecake
Serves 6-8

18 cinnamon-sugar graham crackers
½ cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, melted
8 oz. cream cheese, softened
1 (14-oz) can condensed milk
15 oz fresh ricotta or requeson cheese
1 Tbs vanilla extract
1 tsp fresh orange zest
4 large eggs

1. Preheat oven 350 – put rack in middle position
2. Process graham crackers in food processor until finely crumbled. Add butter and process until blended. Pat crumbs over the bottom of the pan and 1 ½ in. up sides of a 9-in springform pan. Place on a baking sheet and bake 10 minutes until golden. Cool completely.
3. Beat cream cheese and condensed milk at medium speed in bowl of electric mixer until smooth. Add ricotta, vanilla and orange zest, beat until smooth. Add eggs 1 at a time, beating well after each addition.
4. Pour mixture into cooled crust. Bake 50 minutes until cheesecake is puffed and golden and a tester inserted 1 inch from center comes out clean. Cool on wire rack 35 minutes. Cover and chill at least 2 hours. Serve at room temperature.
5. Sprinkle berries on top.

Marcela Valladolid’s Cheesecake. The chef and judge on CBS’s The American Baking Competition puts a twist on a classic dessert.