Tags

, , , ,

Yesterday we, well I really mean I, decided that I needed a break from the kitchen. The weather is now fabulous in Provence and eating in a garden would be ideal. I decided that we should try Le clos Saint-Roch which has excellent reviews on trip advisor. court yard These 2 pictures from Le clos Saint-Roch’s website court yard

Have any of you used trip advisor? I look at their reviews on a regular basis and I also post reviews when a meal deserves it. For the village of Maussane-les-Alpilles, Le clos Saint-Roch is #3. The first restaurant is La Fleur de Thym. It is in fact my favorite in Maussane. Number 2 is Pizza Brun. They make a good pizza, so I was curious to see how Le Clos Saint-Roch measured up.

Most of the reviewers give this restaurant an outstanding review. I have to say that we were a little disappointed. The service was very slow. When the dishes came, they were beautiful to look at. My green bean and crawfish salad was excellent. Robin had a
delicious Salmon Tartare, and Jacques has the entree of the day which was grilled vegetables with rouget fish on top. Niko had the roving fork.

For the main course, Jacques had the steak which came with a sauce that was way too salty.steak Robin and I had a brochette of duck breast, also had a sauce that was a bit salty and some of the pieces were over cooked. But they were on a bed of grilled vegetables that were fabulous. Niko had Tortelloni farcis aux fromages (cheese stuffed Tortelloni) which he loved.DSC07962

Jacques desert was a beautiful strawberry tartlet, Robin and I had a lovely Verrine de fraises de saison (glass filled with layers of strawberries, vanilla flavored Mascarpone, berry coulis and a sesame cookie) and Niko had a warm chocolate concoction.

Yes, I would go back, because Robin had a good lunch there a few weeks ago and all those people who wrote great reviews can’t be wrong.