Tags

, ,

le Central
Many years ago when I was just out of college, I dined at Le Central. I went with my cousin Lynne and we had a wonderful French dinner. I’d been meaning to return for another meal, but San Francisco has a lot of excellent restaurants so I didn’t get back until last Friday. The location is between the financial district, Chinatown and downtown. It is housed in an old brick building and inside it has the warm authentic feeling of a brasserie. You are seated at the cozy banquette, a basket of French bread is placed on the table along with the handwritten daily menu which is on a chalkboard.

Since the restaurant was founded in 1974, I must have had dinner there just after it opened. Apparently it holds the honor of being San Francisco’s oldest French bistro.
They serve classic French cuisine such as onion soup gratinée, filet mignon au poirve, cassoulet and steak frites.

Lunch on Friday included my mother, brother and sister. I had the salade nicoise that would have been better if they had used fresh tuna. Bill had the flavorful cassoulet (simmering for over 13,000 days) while Mom had a delicious crab cake and a salad. Jan had a cold salmon dish that she enjoyed. And yes, I will come back the next time I need my French brasserie fix.IMG_2310

453 Bush St. San Francisco, CA 94108
(415) 391-2233