Tags

, , , , , , ,

My husband Jacques and I spent 3 days in Paris this past week.  We booked the 10:14 AM train from Avignon and because of a late start, almost missed it, arriving about 7 minutes before the train pulled into the station.  In Paris, we arrived to gray skies and rain. But who cares, this is Paris!

I went back to see the marvelous Van Cleef Exhibit. It makes a difference when you go to a museum mid-week.  Jacques I also trekked over to the Pompidou Centre for the Dali Exhibit. We took the Metro to the Hotel de Ville station and walked up Rue Renard.  After lunch in a cafe, we went into the museum.  I apologize about the quality of my photos. There is the no photos sign next to every picture but I took some anyway with my iPhone.

This is a beautiful exhibit with a selection of 200 of Dali’s major works. There were so many pictures that I had never seen. Obviously my education concerning this artist is lacking.  Dali was a brilliant Spanish surrealist artist; a prolific painter, sculptor and writer. The exhibit will run though March, so you have time to see it.  The curator, Jean – Hubert has divided the exhibition into themed time periods.  I was very surprised by the small size of The Persistance of Memory, oil on canvas – 24 x 33 cm, which is housed in New York at the Museum of Modern Art.

Salvador Dali was quite a character. (1904-1989) ” I am destined to do no less than save modern painting from sloth and chaos”, wrote Dalí in his Journal d’un génie (1964). His father and his brother, who died 3 years before he was born, were also named Salvador.  Dali said; “My brother was merely a prototype of myself.” Centre George Pompidouposter

Restaurant George

Restaurant GEORGE IMG_1604

This one was my favorite. Landscape with a girl skipping rope 1936.  The painting is a triptych – here is the whole painting from the internet:

landscape with a girl skipping rope

IMG_1594 IMG_1598

The visage of war or The Face of War 1941

IMG_1603

The Swallow’s Tail (Series on Catastrophes)  was Salvador Dalí’s last painting IMG_1605

There was plenty of room to circulate around the exhibit.  In the center of the second room were films made by or concerning Dali.IMG_1593 IMG_1619

interactive

View from the top of Pompidou

The Basilica of the Sacred Heart of Paris, also known as Sacré-Cœur Basilica; is a Roman Catholic church and minor basilica, dedicated to the Sacred Heart of Jesus.  This is a popular landmark located at the summit of the butte de Montmartre, the highest point in the city. (from Wikipedia)IMG_1613

Pompidou Centre

19, rue Beaubourg
75004 Paris

 

Metro/RER; Metro: Rambuteau, Hotel de Ville

 

Times and Prices

 

From Wednesday 21 November 2012 to Monday 25 March 2013 :
– Monday, Wednesday and Sunday from 11:00 to 21:00
– From Thursday to Saturday from 11:00 to 23:00

Admission prices :
– Full price : 13 €
– Reduced price : 10 €