Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Now I don’t need a new car since mine is fine.  I only have about 30,000 miles on my 2008 Lexus RX 400h. I love my car and I get decent mileage.  But this morning my car wouldn’t start.  So I drove our 1989 Ford Explorer to pilates and to do the shopping.  Now that is a car I don’t like.  It drives like a truck and I’m not partial to trucks.  But it has been a wonderful SUV and still has life in it.

I called the Lexus service line and they gave me the number for the road assistance.  A very nice man by the name of Costantin came out and pronounced my battery dead.  He said that if I buy a new battery through the AAA service I would save about $200 than if I bought the same battery from Lexus.  So now I am waiting on the second road assistance person – Mike.

In passing, I asked Costantin about cars, since he services them daily.  “What car would you buy if money didn’t matter?”  I was surprised when he said, “The Tesla.”  “But they are so expensive.” I replied.  Cornelius said that the base price of the new S Model was only $50,000 but they go up to $120,000. Apparently the difference in price has something to do with the size of the battery and obviously comfort features.  Sooner or later, we are going to need to get away from fossil fuel for our transportation.

 

The Tesla website mentions that there is another car coming out in 2014.  It is the Model X.  The website says that the “Model X is designed from the ground up to blend the best of an SUV with the benefits of a minivan…”  Now that sounds like the kind of car I would want. This “future” car will be 100% electric and thus won’t use any gas.

Look at this picture – the car will have “Falcon Wings”.  The doors go up and not out. This way, when you park in a narrow spot, the doors won’t be in the way.  But really, a Tesla owner is going to park next to another car???

One cool thing is that the US government gives a $7,500 federal tax credit when you buy a new Tesla for personal use.  Another money saving point in California, people are eligible for a $2,500 rebate from the Clean Vehicle Rebate Project.  And maybe the best thing is that Tesla drivers can use the car pool lane even if they are alone in the car.

These cars don’t need the routine service that gas powered cars need. Apparently, you only need a service once a year or every 12,000 miles.  I’ve talked myself into going for a test drive.  Maybe I should continue to play the lottery and maybe I should consider this for my next car?  Anyway, there is a Tesla dealership about 5 miles away from where I live. I will have to go and check them out because I love to look at new cars.  And I must remember to buy that Lottery ticket.