Tags

, , , ,

Trip #2 was a week or so later,  to the San Francisco Fancy Food Show in Moscone Center.  For those of you who have never been to a professional exhibition like this, RULE #1 is to wear comfortable shoes.  I wear my Asics with and don’t worry too much about how I look. This show was great.  Rule #2 is  don’t eat for about a week before the show and go to the show hungry because everyone has something to sample.

Moscone Convention Center was named after the murdered mayor of San Francisco, George Moscone.  It was opened in 1981 and has been busy very since. The spaces available are wonderful.

I went with the buyers from the Lucile Packard Children’s Hospital’s Gift Shop.  We buyers go to this show to buy candy, cookies, popcorn and other yummy goodies for the Gift Shop.

This year, the Fancy Food Show opened in San Francisco’s Moscone Center with more than 80,000 specialty foods and beverages on display from over 30 countries. The North and the South halls were crammed with booths, venders and food.  The best part about this show is that every booth offers a taste.  Not just a little taste either.  I really didn’t ever have to eat again after the day’s adventure.

We started out in Cheese.  Let me tell you, they had cheese!  Apparently artisanal cheese is the up and coming thing.  Well, I saw blue, cheddar, goat, cow, sheep, Parmesan, European cheese, American cheese, and everything else.  And the smells, wow!  By the way, I didn’t take the cheese picture, that’s why it looks so good.

Then we checked out sauces from all sorts of countries.  Spicy sauces, Jalapeno Tequila Exotic Hot Sauce, bland sauces, salsa sauces, Chinese sauces, Thai sauces, tomato sauces, pizza sauces, barbeque sauces, and who can forget the chocolate sauces…., not me.

Did I mention fish?  Yes, indeed, lots of dried fish, smoked fish, salmon, trout, sardines and on and on.

I have a terrible sweet tooth so I loved the cookies, cakes and candies.  Then there was a huge selection of jams too and the ham, pates and other meats were amazing.

 

 

One of the new things that I saw was pureed fruits for babies and children in squeeze tubes.  There was one vender that had a great display but when I asked if I could take a picture, they said “no”.  Oh well. Other venders were happy to have their pictures taken. 

We ate our way through aisles and aisles of venders in the 2 huge halls.  We all collected samples to take back to the Gift Shop. A few of my favorite vendors are, the Jelly Belly candies, Shakespeare’s Chocolates, Dragonfly Cakes, and the Peanut Shop – peanuts from Virginia.  Did I mention my sweet tooth?

The next show that we went to at this venue was the Winter International Gift Show.  But alas, I didn’t take any pictures.  All of these are from this  food show.